FDOH Walton County Vital Statistics
362 State Hwy 83
DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433
We are currently issuing Florida Death Certificates from 2009 to the present for all Florida counties. Florida Death Certificates prior to 2009 must be ordered through the Bureau of Vital Statistics in Jacksonville. The cost for each certified copy is $10.00.
In Florida, any person of legal age may order a Florida Death Certificate without Cause of Death.
A Florida Death Certificate with ‘Cause of Death’ is confidential by Florida and may only be issued to:
-The decedent's spouse, parent, child, grandchild, or sibling (if 18 years of age or older).
-Any person who provides a "Will" that has been executed pursuant to state statute 732.502; an insurance policy or other document that demonstrates his or her interest in the estate of the decedent;
-Any person who provides documentation that he or she is acting on behalf of any of the previously mentioned persons.
Fifty (50) years following the date of death, "Cause of death" becomes public information and anyone may obtain a Death Certificate with this information. Any time period prior to the fifty years, "cause of death" is considered confidential by Florida law.
Obtaining a Death Certificate – Certificates are mailed via U.S. Postal Service (fee included with the purchase of certificate).
In Person: Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM Central Time. We are located at 362 State Hwy 83 in DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433.
Fee for Death Certificate is $10.00. Checks, cash, money orders, Visa, MasterCard are acceptable forms of payment. Applicant must have a picture ID. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card as issued by Department of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or Passport.
By Mail or by Fax: Application hyperlinked above. The applicant must use their own credit card and their billing address in order to have their requests processed.
After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at 850-892-8097 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.
Check or money order should be made payable to Florida Department of Health in Walton County. Visa or MasterCard are also accepted. Credit card number, expiration date, and a billing address are required. Include a copy of the applicant’s valid identification. Orders will be returned unprocessed if the requests are incomplete. Mail your completed application form, copy of valid identification and payment toFlorida Department of Health in Walton CountyAttn: Vital Records Section362 State Hwy 83DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433FAX: 850-892-8764 Certificates and Registries -https://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/index.html