FDOH Walton County Vital Statistics
362 State Hwy 83
DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433
For Driver’s License Renewal - A new federal law requires you to have a certified copy of your birth certificate to renew your driver’s license. Many people do not have a certified copy of their birth certificate. A birth certificate with your foot print or a plain black and white copy is not a certified birth certificate. Only parents, legal guardians, or the person whose name appears on the certificates, if they are at least 18 years of age, can receive a birth certificate.
Newborn - The birth certificate for a newborn is not automatically mailed to the parent after birth. The parent must apply for the birth certificate through a vital Statistics office and pay the proper fee.
Not born in Florida? Click the link to find contact information for other states. www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w.htm
If you or your child were born outside of the United States and need information on foreign birth records, visit the National Center for Health Statistics. www.cdc.gov/nchs/w2w/foreign.htm
Obtaining a Birth Certificate - The Florida Department of Health has three methods for providing this service.
DH726 Birth Certificate Application
In Person: Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM Central Time. We are located at 362 State Hwy 83 in DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433.
Fee for Birth Certificate is $12.00. Checks, cash, money orders, Visa, MasterCard are acceptable forms of payment. Applicant must have a picture ID. Acceptable forms of ID are Driver’s License, State ID Card as issued by Department of Motor Vehicles, Military ID, or Passport.
Issued only to the person named on the record when 18 years of age or older or to the registrant’s parent or legal guardian. Legal guardian must show guardianship papers.
By Mail or by Fax: Application hyperlinked above. The applicant must use their own credit card and their billing address in order to have their requests processed.
After faxing your application and required ID, please contact our office at 850-892-8097 to verify your faxed request was received and the ID is clear to read.
Check or money order should be made payable to Florida Department of Health in Walton County. Visa or MasterCard are also accepted. Credit card number, expiration date, and a billing address are required. Include a copy of the applicant’s valid identification. Orders will be returned unprocessed if the requests are incomplete. Mail your completed application form, copy of valid identification and payment toFlorida Department of Health in Walton CountyAttn: Vital Records Section362 State Hwy 83DeFuniak Springs, FL 32433FAX: 850-892-8764
By Visiting VitalChek® website/telephoning our only recognized vendor:
The Florida Department of Health in Walton County does not accept credit cards for online orders. For your convenience, however, you can process online requests through an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you this service - VitalChek Network, Inc. VitalChek can be reached either through its website, www.vitalchek.com or by phone at 1-877-550-7330 to speak with a customer representative. An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.”Certificates and Registries -https://www.floridahealth.gov/certificates/index.html